AM | ELIGIBLE FOR REEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE? 4

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT REEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE AND THE CARES ACT S »

| AM A GIG WORKER, INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR, OR SELF EMPLOYED
AND NOT TRADITIONALLY ELIGIBLE FOR STATE
REEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE BENEFITS

l l l

| APPLIED FOR
| HAVE NOT REEMPLOYMENT I APPLIED ON OR
APPLIED YET ASSISTANCE ON OR AFTER APRIL 5, 2020

BEFORE APRIL 4, 2020

l

APPLY AT YOU'RE ALL SET
FLORIDAJOBS.ORG WAIT TO HEAR FROM
DEO

AFTER YOU APPLY, YOU WILL BE NOTIFIED TO
COMPLETE ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS IN CONNECT FOR
PANDEMIC UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE (PUA)

}

PUA will include up to $275 per week (for up to 39 Weeks) plus an
additional $600 per week of Federal Pandemic Unemployment
Compensation (FPUC) is available until 7/31/2020.

DEQ)

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT ¢
ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY

For general information about Reemployment Assistance, call 1-833-FL-APPLY (1-833-352-7759).
Phone hours: Mon. through Fri. 7:30 a.m. — 6:30 p.m. | Sat. and Sun. 8 a.m.- 5 p.m.

The Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act, also known as the CARES Act, was signed into law on
March 27, 2020, will expand Reemployment Assistance benefits. Benefits will be paid from the date you became

eligible under the CARES Act.




Applying for
Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA)

Administered by the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity E'EL@.?é?ﬁc“’S?p%“JJY

Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) provides assistance to individuals whose employment has been
either lost or interrupted as a direct result of COVID-19 and those not ordinarily eligible for state Reemployment

Assistance. This includes individuals who are gig workers, self-employed or contract employees

PUA will provide individuals with up to $275 per week in benefits.

You may be eligible for PUA if, as a direct result of COVID-19:

» You became unemployed.
« You were scheduled to begin work but cannot begin your work at that job.
» You have become the primary breadwinner due to the death of the head of household.

The following information is required when filing:

Social Security number.

Alien registration number and expiration date (non-U.S. citizen).

Name and address of employer affected by the disaster.

If self-employed, you must have proof of self-employment, including, but not limited to:

State or federal tax returns

Financial statements

Bank records of accounts, 1099 Forms, active business or occupational license, business sales receipts,
business rental lease, or any record showing you had an active business at the time of the pandemic.

O

O 0O

You must complete an application for state Reemployment Assistance benefits before applying for PUA.
During the application you will be asked if you were impacted by COVID-19. Your Reemployment Assistance
claim will then be determined for eligibility. If you are determined ineligible or your state Reemployment
Assistance benefits have been exhausted, you will then be prompted to file a PUA application.

How to Apply

| have not applied for | applied for

Reemployment Assistance
on or before April 4, 2020

Reemployment Assistance

Apply at You're all set
FloridaJobs.org Wait to hear from
DEO

For general information about Reemployment Assistance, visit FloridaJobs.org or call 1-833-FL-APPLY (1-833-352-7759).
Phone hours: Mon. through Fri. 7:30 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Sat. and Sun. 8 a.m.-5p.m.



Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) FAQs DEQ
Administered by the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity
FLORIDA DEPARTMENT «
ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY

Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) provides assistance to individuals whose employment has been either lost
or interrupted as a direct result of COVID-19 and those not ordinarily eligible for state Reemployment Assistance. This
includes individuals who are gig workers, self-employed or contract employees

PUA will provide individuals with up to $275 per week in benefits.

Am | eligible for PUA?
You may be eligible if your employment has been either lost or interrupted as a direct result of COVID-19, one or
more of the following occurred: you became unemployed, you were scheduled to begin work but no longer have a
job or you became the primary breadwinner due to the death of the head of household, and if you would not
ordinarily be eligible for state Reemployment Assistance. This includes individuals who are gig workers, self-
employed or contract employees.

How do | file a claim?

You must complete an application for Reemployment Assistance benefits before filing for PUA. To complete your
application, you can file your claim online at www.FloridaJobs.org. You must file for state Reemployment Assistance
benefits before filing for PUA. During the application process, you will be asked if you were impacted by COVID-19.
Your Reemployment Assistance claim will then be determined for eligibility. If you are determined ineligible or your
regular Reemployment Assistance benefits have been exhausted, you will then be prompted in CONNECT to file a

PUA application. If you applied for Reemployment Assistance before on April 4, 2020, you must submit another
application.

Wbt shioialet | ko th mitest swhets filic:a PUA olalim?

You must report all earnings. If you are paid by your employer during your absence from work or if you return to
work, you must report these earnings. Paid sick leave, vacation pay or other paid leave must also be reported.

Proof of employment at the time of COVID-19 is required within 21 days of completing the PUA application. You can
fax the required documents to 1-800-222-7934 or mail them to PUA Unit P.O. Box 5350 Tallahassee, FL 32314.
Your personal income tax return (Federal Form 1040 and attachments) or other proof of employment (e.g. 1099)
and wages you earned in calendar year 2019 may also be requested.

o | i take hatore | racer benefits ?

PUA benefits are payable once proof of employment and wages is received, verified and it is determine that your
unemployment was a direct result of COVID-19. Each claim must be reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Our goal is to
ensure a determination is made as quickly as possible in your time of need.

How many weeks can | receive?
If you are eligible for PUA, you will be paid weekly benefits in accordance with federal and state regulations. The
PUA benefit duration may last up to 39 weeks, with up to $275 in weekly benefits. The CARES Act Federal

Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) also provides eligible individuals with $600 per week in addition to
the weekly benefit amount. These additional benefits may be available from March 29,2020 to July 31, 2020.

For general information about Reemployment Assistance, visit FloridaJobs.org or call 1-833-FL-APPLY (1-833-352-7759).
Phone hours: Mon. through Fri. 7:30 a.m. — 6:30 p.m.
Sat. and Sun. 8 a.m.-5p.m.



COVID-19 PANDEMIC SCENARIOS & BENEFITS AVAILABLE DE®

THEN YOU COULD BE ELIGIBLE FOR:

YOU MIGHT ALSO BE ELIGIBELE FOR:

State Reemployment Assistance
{12 weeks up to $275 per week)

+$600/week of Federal Pandemic Unemployment
Compensation (FPUC)

(FPUC is available until 7/31/2020)
Up to 13 additional weeks of federal emergency
unemployment benefits when the state Reemployment
benefits are d

HERE'S WHAT YOU NEED TO DO:

State Reemployment Assistance
{12 weeks up to $275 per week)

+$600/week of Federal F L
(FPUC)

(FPUC Is avallable until 7/31/2020)
Up to 13 additional weeks of federal emergency unemployment
benefits when the state Reemployment Assistance benefits are
exhausted

Federal F y L
Compensation (PEUC)
(13 weeks up to $275 per week)

Recmploymer

+$600/week of Federal F 1
(FPUC)
(FPUC Is avallable until 7/31/2020)

ARE NOT WORKING DUE TO COVID-19 FOR ONE OF THE FOLLOWING REASONS

If you are being pald leave under, you might not be eligible for benefits at the same time. Paid leave is reported as wages.

IF YOU: THEN YOU COULD BE ELIGIBLE FOR:

YOU MIGHT ALSO BE ELIGIBLE FOR: HERE'S WHAT YOU NEED TO DO:

Up to 39 Weeks of Pandemic Unemployment
Assistance
(Up to $275 in weekly benefits)

+$600,/week of Federal F 1 ! C
(FPUC)
(FPUC is avallable until 7/31/2020)

Up to 39 Weeks of Pandemic Unemployment
Assistance
(Up to $275 In weekly benefits)

+$600/week of Federal F 1 Comp:
(FPUC)
(FPUC is avallable until 7/31,/2020)

Up to 39 Weeks of Pandemic Unemployment
Assistance
{Up to $275 In weekly benefits)

+$600/week of Federal Pandemic Unemployment
Compensation (FPUC)
[FPUC Is available until 7/31,/2020)

Up to 39 Weeks of Pandemic Unemployment
Assistance
(Up to $275 In weekly benefits)

+$600/week of Federal Pand Unemploy Comp
(FPUC)
(FPUC Is available until 7/31,/2020)

Up to 39 Weeks of Pandemic Unemployment
Assistance
{Up to $275 In weekly benefits)

+$600/week of Federal F C
(FPUC)
(FPUC s avallable untll 7/31/2020)

Up to 39 Weeks of Pandemic Unemployment
Assistance
(Up to $275 in weekly benefits)

+$600,/week of Federal Pand L play Comp )
(FPUC)
(FPUC Is avallable until 7/31/2020)

Up to 39 Weeks of Pandemic Unemployment
Assistance
(Up to $275 In weekly benefits)

+$600/week of Federal F L 1 Comp
(FPUC)
(FPUC Is avallable until 7/31/2020)

Up to 39 Weeks of Pandemic Unemployment
Assistance
(Up to $275 in weekly benefits)

+$600/week of Federal Pandemic U c
(FPUC)
{FPUC Is avallable untll 7/31/2020)

Up to 39 Weeks of Pandemic Unemployment
Assistance
{Up to $275 in weekly benefits)

+$600,/week of Federal F 1 C
(FPUC)
(FPUC is available until 7/31,/2020)

Up to 39 Weeks of Pandemic Unemployment
Assistance
{Up to $275 in weekly benefits)

+$600,/week of Federal P ic Unemy c
(FPUC)
(FPUC Is avallable until 7/31,/2020)

Up to 39 Weeks of Pandemic Unemployment
Assistance
(Up to $275 in weekly benefits)

+$600/week of Federal Pandemic U C

(FPUC)
(FPUC Is available until 7/31/2020)

For general Information about Reemployment Assistance, visit FloridaJobs,org or call 1-833-FL-APPLY (1-833-352-7759).
Phone hours: Mon, through Fri. 7:30 a.m. - 6:30 p.m,
Sat. and Sun. 8 a.m.- 5 p.m.

#




Additional Questions & Answers

Why is the Ul system not recognizing my work status?
Many applicants who were self-employed may need to reapply.
Why haven’t | received my Ul benefits, despite applying in March?

Applicants who are in pending status and have a claimant’s ID should contact the Department of
Economic Opportunity or their state legislator.

How am | able to reset my PIN if | am not able speak with anyone when | call nor reset it through the
system?

Applicants are unable to reset their pin without contacting the DEO. Mid-afternoons seem to be the
best times to get through to the DEO.

Why would the Ul system state | am ineligible for Ul benefits if | should be eligible based on
eligibility criteria?

1. You could be ineligible for traditional state Ul benefits (self-employed, gig workers)

2. You possibly submitted an incomplete application (allegedly)

3. Not earning enough wages in the base wage period (someone who is self-employed & part-time W-2
worker, some combination of the such)

Based on reports to our office, Florida’s Ul system has not been fully updated to include expanded
unemployment benefits and eligibility available through the federal CARES Act, and unfortunately

deemed most people who wouldn’t qualify for benefits without CARES as ineligible.

Many were denied Ul by the state and were instructed to reapply. Will | be put in the back of the
“line” of applications and wait several MORE weeks?

The State of Florida has not provided guidance or timelines related to this.
Many have not received either their state Ul or PUA. How much longer will | have to wait?
The State of Florida has not provided guidance or timelines related to this.

Many have applied for state Ul and have not received any confirmation that their applications were
received or being worked on. What is the best way for an individual to track their application?

The best way is through CONNECT because everyone’s applications get migrated into CONNECT,
regardless of how they applied. Applicants are able to backdate their claim date here:
https://claimdate.myflorida.com/recertification
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